Violating a protection order (commonly known as a “Restraining Order”) is a serious crime in Nevada and depending on the underlying circumstances, can result in a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony. Not only will violating a protection order tarnish your record, it can have you displaced from your home, work, and in certain situations, away from your family. Don’t let a possible misunderstanding happen to you. Contact the attorneys at Almase Law today to help you if you’re being charged with violating a restraining order.
What is a Protection Order?
A protection order is an order issued by a court that orders an individual to do or not do certain things. A protection order can be sought to protect people allegedly at risk of domestic violence, stalking and harassment, harassment in the workplace, sexual assault, and child abuse.
What Is in a Protection Order?
Protection orders are unique and different in every case, which is the precise reason why it is essential to have an experienced attorney by your side if a protection order has been filed against you. A protection order can include a variety of conditions prescribed by a judge including the relinquishment of firearms, areas that are off-limits to visit, and restricted child visitation.
What are the Penalties for Violating a Protection Order?
The penalties of violating a protection order depend on the underlying objective of the protection order. While certain violations may result in a misdemeanor, other violations can be charged as felonies.
Violating a Domestic Violence or Harassment in the Workplace Protection Order
An individual who has knowingly or purposefully violated a restraining order relating to domestic violence or harassment in the workplace may be charged with a misdemeanor in Nevada. The punishment can include up to six months in county jail, and up to $1,000 in fines.
Violating a Stalking/Harassment, Sexual Assault, or Protection of Children Protection Order
Alternatively, an individual who has purposefully violated a temporary protection order against stalking or harassment, sexual assault, or child abuse may be charged with a gross misdemeanor. The sentence can include up to 364 days in county jail and a $2,000.
Violating an Extended Protection Order
Being that an extended protection order may substantially limit an assailant’s rights, the punishment for violating an extended protection order is significantly more serious. Deliberately violating an extended protection order is a category C felony and is punishable by up to 1 to 5 years in state prison, and up to a $10,000 fine.
Hire an Experienced Attorney
If you have been charged with violating a protection order, it is imperative that you hire an experienced attorney and call Almase law to defend the allegations. Here at Almase Law, we will help you understand the conditions of a protection order and strategize the best defense if you have been charged with violating such an order. Almase Law will analyze the particulars of your case and determine whether the restraining order was ineffective because it was improperly served, or if the accused even had the requisite intent to violate the protection order. Whatever the circumstances may be that surround your charge, give Almase Law a call, and let them work to obtain a judgment in your favor.